Cumbernauld 10K 2015 Results

Tuesday, 22 September 2015 NLL Latest News

Now in its eighth year and bigger and better than ever, Sunday saw a record 1,000 runners and walkers of all ages take part in Cumbernauld’s annual festival of running.

Organised by NL Leisure, North Lanarkshire Council and Campsies Centre Cumbernauld; the event goes from strength to strength, aided by support from partners Strathmore Water and the Cumbernauld News as well as charity partner the Scottish Spina Bifida Association. 

Children from Primary 5-7 got a great day off to a rocking start in a series of 1K races; before S1-S4s scorched around a 3K course ahead of the day’s main event, a 10K race that’s grown in popularity with each passing year.

The final event of the day, The Victory Mile, drew the biggest cheers as families and small children, many in wheelchairs, enjoyed the chance to get involved in the action.

Undefeated champion Robert Gilroy again led the field home in the men’s 10K in a blistering 31 minutes followed by Josef Farkas and Del Young. 

In the women’s race, Lindsay Currie took victory in an impressive 39 minutes with Elaine Somerville in second and Lisa Noble third.

The boys 3K Race was won by Thomas Whiteford ahead of Cameron Taylor-Cameron and Alasdair McMonagle; while Alisha Sivell held off Lucy Somerville and Emma Johnson to win the girls race.

The winners were presented with their trophies by Provost (and honorary starter) Jim Robertson.


10K Race Winners


1 Robert Gilroy (Ronhill Cambuslang Harriers) Lindsey Currie (Dumbarton AAC)
2 Jozef Farkas Tara Donnelly (Falkirk Victoria Harriers)
3 Del Young (Garscube Harriers) Elaine Sommerville (Bellahouston Road Runners)

Full results:


3K Race Winners

1 Thomas Whiteford Alisha Sivell
2 Alasdair McMonagle Lucy Sommerville
3 Cameron Taylor-Cameron Emma Johnson

Full results:


1K Race Winners


  Primary 5
1 Lewis Moir (Calderglen Harriers) Sophie Sinclair (Lenzie PS)
2 Max Frew (Glenmannor PS) Rebecca Barnett (Victoria Park)
3 Adam Knox (Lenzie PS) Rebecca Lawman (Abronhill PS)


  Primary 6
1 Russell Barnett (Victoria Park AC) Katie Johnston (Edinburgh AC)
2 Craig Little (Cumbernauld AC) Rona Connay (Eastfield PS)
3 Rory Elliot (Kirkintilloch Olympians) Keri Welsford (Cumbernauld AC)


  Primary 7
1 Connor Gourley (St Margaret’s PS) Valencia Wright (Millersneuk PS)
2 Eoghan Mulholland (St Margaret’s PS) Holly Kirkwood (Lenzie Moss PS)
3 Jamie Connelly (Eastfield PS) Amy Kennedy (Cumbernauld PS)
Google Plus

membership jumpoff

NLL Latest News

About NL Leisure

NL Leisure is a registered Scottish charity, regulated by the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR). The purpose of NL Leisure is to deliver sport, recreational, health improving and social welfare services to the community of North Lanarkshire. NL Leisure is a not for profit company (NPDO) which is limited by guarantee.

NL Leisure's vision is to provide exceptional customer service and value for money experience through the provision of a range of high quality sport, recreational and health improving activities




NL Leisure Headquarters

1 Ardgoil Drive,
G68 9NE
01236 341968

Membership Enquiries

General Enquiries

Click here for a full list of venue details